MozFest Facilitator Handbook 2018

MozFest Facilitator Handbook 2018

Facilitator Coaching

Facilitator Coaching

We’re offering four, one-hour group coaching sessions throughout October, to help you design and plan your session for maximum participation-- and maximum benefit to you and your project. These sessions are held via video conference-- sign up to attend! Dial-in audio participation by phone is also available, if your internet connection is unstable. We’ll also take notes and chat in a collective, online google document during the coaching sessions. This is a great chance to interact and exchange feedback with Mozfest staff and other session facilitators.

The coaching sessions cover the basics of effective open facilitation. We will:

  • introduce frameworks for participatory session design
  • brainstorm ways to get participants actively engaged
  • discuss your session plans and ideal outcomes
  • share feedback on your session plans
  • explore advanced topics as needed, such managing group dynamics during discussions

Coaching sessions are held on the following dates.

  • Wednesday, October 3rd at 8:00 EDT, 13:00 BST, 14:00 CEST, 15:00 EAT, 17:30 IST, 19:00 ICT (Time Zone Converter)
  • Thursday, October 11th at 10:00 BST, 11:00 CEST, 12:00 MSK, 14:30 IST, 16:00 ICT, 17:00 CST, 20:00 AEDT (Time Zone Converter)
  • Monday, October 15th at 8:00 PDT, 11:00 EDT, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CEST (Time Zone Converter)
  • Tuesday, October 23rd at 10:00 PDT, 13:00 EDT, 18:00 BT, 19:00 CEST (Time Zone Converter)

Sign up for one of the dates, and we’ll send you details. We will be recording the Coaching sessions, so you can watch a video if you’re not able to come. Keep an eye on the #facilitator-coaching channel in Slack for a link. You can also get onsite support at MozFest, starting with the Facilitator Orientation Session at 10:00 on October 26th at Ravensbourne.

Up Next: Promote Your Session and the Festival

This is part of a broader movement for a healthy internet. See more.