New: Movement-Building From Home Community Calls

By Abigail Cabunoc Mayes and Chad Sansing | April 7, 2020 | Mozilla Festival

You’re invited to participate in the launch of "Movement-Building from Home", a new series of community calls meant to help support the continuity of your activism, community, and work during the COVID-19 global health crisis. These calls are open to anyone interested in discussing online community and movement building with peers around the world.

Whether you’ve been thrust into running a virtual conference for the first time, or you’ve been movement-building from home for years, these calls are a space for allies ready to share their own experience with movement building online, online project and community leads, and community members pivoting to online work to learn from one another in community. We’ll share how Mozilla is approaching online meetings, community care, personal ecology, and community management. We’ll hold space on each call for participants to share, as well.

Supporting the continuity of your work

The "Movement-Building from Home" calls will run over the course of four weeks, from 14 April through 7 May 2020. Each week, participants will have four call times to choose from. You can register all at once for all calls in the series to receive invites to each one, and then attend as many or as few as your schedule allows. Notes and recordings will be shared afterwards for anyone who can’t join live.

  • Week 1: Online meetings
    Unpack platforms and practices that can help. Choose one:
    • Tuesday, 14 April 2020, at 12 PM ET / 16:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 15 April 2020, at 8 AM ET / 12:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 15 April 2020, at 1 PM ET / 17:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Thursday, 16 April 2020 at 5 PM ET / 21:00 UTC (calendar)
  • Week 2: Community care
    Help ensure your community’s safety and care. Choose one:
    • Tuesday, 21 April 2020, at 12 PM ET / 16:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 22 April 2020, at 8 AM ET / 12:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 22 April 2020, at 1 PM ET / 17:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Thursday, 23 April 2020, at 5 PM ET / 21:00 UTC (calendar)
  • Week 3: Personal ecology
    Sustain yourself and your activism. Choose one:
    • Tuesday, 28 April 2020, at 12 PM ET / 16:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 29 April 2020, at 8 AM ET / 12:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 29 April 2020, at 1 PM ET / 17:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Thursday, 30 April 2020, at 5 PM ET / 21:00 UTC (calendar)
  • Week 4: Community management
    Keep your communities engaged online. Choose one:
    • Tuesday, 5 May 2020, at 12 PM ET / 16:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 6 May 2020, at 8 AM ET / 12:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Wednesday, 6 May 2020, at 1 PM ET / 17:00 UTC (calendar)
    • Thursday, 7 May 2020, at 5 PM ET / 21:00 UTC (calendar)

Register to join the "Movement-Building from Home" community call series here.

Do you have feedback, questions, or suggestions about how best to support the continuity of your work and others’? Email organizers Abby Cabunoc Mayes and Chad Sansing. We look forward to learning together! For our latest news and information, you can also follow @mozillafestival on Twitter and sign up for our newsletter here.


About the authors

Abby Cabunoc Mayes

Abigail Cabunoc Mayes mobilizes leaders in the internet health movement around trustworthy AI, open source and MozFest. With a background in computer science and community organizing, she is fueling a culture of openness in research and innovation.

Chad Sansing

Chad Sansing works on leadership and movement-building training, as well as facilitator and newcomer support, for MozFest. When he’s not at work, you can find him gaming, reading, or enjoying time with his family. Prior to joining Mozilla, he taught middle school for 14 years.